Orvis Fly Tying Contest

Starting on January 19, through February 8 Orvis is having a Fly Tying Contest on Instgram. In their words “We’re looking for an original creation, a fly straight from your fish brain to the vise that we can put in our Orvis Fly Fishing Catalog.” Naturally I decided to enter a fly that I have been playing around with for a few weeks. I present to you the Sculpkick.

sculpkick

I have an unhealthy addiction to sculpin patterns since I ran across my first real sculpin while fishing the Norfork river in Arkansas (check it out). This pattern is one of the best representations I have come up with yet. It has the wide head and large fins while maintaining the thin tapered body. Due to the freezing temps I haven’t been able to fish it but I did give it the kitchen sink swim test. It swims with a great kicking motion as well.

swimmer

Hopefully you’ll see this and some other great new patterns in the upcoming Orvis catalog.  Until then, get to tying and post a photo of your creation on Instagram tagged with #OrvisFlyTyingContest and you’re entered. It doesn’t get any easier than that!

Leave a Reply

