Not Just Trout Fly Tying Tutorial – Deceiver Fly

Here is my simple version of the time-tested Deceiver fly pattern. I have caught many bass on this exact pattern.

I tie the majority on a 2/0 hook because it represents the size of the shad in the waters I fish, but it can be scaled up or down to almost any size. I also like to tie on a stainless hook as I may fish it in saltwater someday.

Start the thread at the mid-section of the hook and wrap back to where the hook starts to bend. I like to create a small thread bump at the stopping point of the thread wraps.

Not Just Trout Fly tying, fly tying, deceiver fly
2/0 stainless hook

Next tie in a saddle hackle on the close side of the hook approx. 1.5 to 2 times the length of the hook shank.

Not Just Trout Fly tying, fly tying, deceiver fly

Then tie in another hackle on the opposite side of the hook shank. The bump of thread at the back will keep the feathers apart. You can tie in two feathers on each side for a full look if you prefer. I chose one per side because I like this fly sparse. Trim the excess feather off.

Not Just Trout Fly tying, fly tying, deceiver fly

Next wrap the thread forward towards the eye creating a smooth body. I prefer to coat the thread wraps near the tail with a small amount of head cement at this time to lock the tails in.

Not Just Trout Fly tying, fly tying, deceiver fly.

Next I take a small clump of white bucktail and tie it in near the eye distributing it around the hook about a 1/4 to 1/2 the length of the tail. You want good buck tail that will flair with thread pressure. I go with the idea that less is more when doing this step. Many people use too much bucktail and that leads to losing some of the action with this fly. This fly is extra sparse as I am going to add two more colors of bucktail.

Not Just Trout Fly tying, fly tying, deceiver fly

I chose to make this fly in the popular cotton candy colors so next I added a little pink bucktail on top, again making sure to not use too much. I dispersed the pink around the top 3/4 of the fly.

Not Just Trout Fly tying, fly tying, deceiver fly

Then top it off with a very sparse amount of blue bucktail distributed around the top half of the fly.

Not Just Trout Fly tying, fly tying, deceiver fly

Take wraps around the front to create a smooth tapered head and tie off the thread how ever you prefer. I choose to use a whip finisher.

Not Just Trout Fly tying, fly tying, deceiver fly

You can add head cement and fish the fly at this point and it will catch fish. I like to have some eyes on my bait fish flies. I choose to use Flymen Fish Skull Living Eyes Ice color in 5mm, as it goes well with the colors of this fly. I hold the eyes on and use a small amount of Clear Cure Goo Brushable to hold them in place.

Not Just Trout fly tying, Deceiver fly, streamer

After making sure the eyes are aligned I coat the head with Clear Cure Goo Brushable and cure with a UV light

Not Just Trout Fly tying, deceiver fly tutorial, streamer fly

Now you have your finish fly and your ready to go catch some fish.

Not Just Trout fly tying, deceiver fly tying, fly tying tutorial, streamer

It works! If you don’t believe me just ask this Smallmouth.

Milford Lake fishing, Kansas, NotJustTrout, Fly fishing kansa

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

