My first rod build

I first learned about rod building a few years ago. Being a fisherman and someone who loves making things I was drawn to it.

The first rod I build was a casting style rod for fishing live bait for catfish. I decided on a 7 ft. fiberglass blank because I like the durability and the action of the rod. I kept it simple with black and green wraps, EVA grip, and a catfish decal.

rod building
Black wraps with green trim

catfish fishing rod
7ft Catfish rod

catfish
Simple handle for catfishing

Every time I hook a fish on this rod it brings a big smile to my face. It is soft enough to make playing the small fish fun but has enough back bone for the big one!

Over the next few posts I will be going over some of my rods I have built.

Leave a Reply

