First fish of 2014

Saturday the tempature warmed up to the mid 50’s so I had to take a trip to fish for some freshly stocked trout.

I figured since they were fresh out of the tank the fish would eat a nymph. So I geared up and headed out.

The stream I decided to fish is the seep stream behind the dam at Kanapolis lake. It takes a mile walk to get to the good part.

image

My walk in did not go very well. About half way in my boot sole decided to delaminate its self.

image

Luckily I had some 20lb mono in my pack. A few wraps later and I was back in business.

image

So I got back to the fishing and it wasn’t long and I had a fish on.

image

I managed to catch a few out of each pool.

image

image

The last pool I fished I hooked into the biggest fish of the day. I would have never guessed it would be very big. It didn’t fight as hard as some of the smaller ones. It was a big old rainbow with torn up fins and ragged gill plates from too much life in a tank. I decided that its chance of surviving were slim so I decided to take it home and feed the family.

By this time it was really warming up and more people were showing up so I decided to head home.

It was a great first fishing trip of the year and I hope I have many more just like it.

Leave a Reply

