Five Days of Fishing Day 2 and 3

Friday I headed for southeast Kansas for a training class to become a Angler Education Instructor for the state of Kansas. I left home early and knocked out the four and half hour drive.

The class wasn’t until Saturday so I had planned on doing some fising in the area. The place I decided to stay was Zan’s Creekside Campground just south of Joplin MO.

Jan’s is on the banks of Shoal Creek. A spring fed creek with Smallmouth bass and Rock bass. The area is very well kept and a nice place.

The creek looked like I would hold some fish, but I was wrong. All I found after fishing for a few hours was a bunch of sucker fish and one 5″ long smallmouth. At least the water was nice and cool so I enjoyed that.

Saturday morning I packed up my gear and headed back across the state line to the Southeast Kansas Nature Center at Shermerhorn Park. Shoal Creek also runs throught this park. The park is a day use only site.

Shoal Creek at Shermerhorn Park
Shoal Creek at Shermerhorn Park
Shoal Creek at Shermerhorn Park
Shoal Creek at Shermerhorn Park
Shoal Creek at Shermerhorn Park
Shoal Creek at Shermerhorn Park

There is also a playground for kids, so I am planing on bringing the family down someday.

Playground and Nature Center on the hill
Playground and Nature Center on the hill

I did a little bit of fishing in the creek again saturday morning but didn’t catch anything. Maybe next time.

Just north of the park is the town of Galena KS. Its a nice little town on Route 66. It is also one of the towns that inspired the Disney movie Cars. The place is alot like Radiator Springs in the movie. They even have the tow truck that Mater was modeled after.

It’s a nice place to visit and I plan on coming back with the family. Maybe next time I will float the river and find some of those bass.

Also Norma’s Dinner has some good food if your ever in the area!

Leave a Reply

