A Great Summer Evening

Tuesday evening I took the family to do some fishing at Milford lake. With all the rain we have been getting over the past month here in Kansas the lakes have finally recovered to normal water levels.

We were fishing a small cove when all the sudden a group of hybrid bass started exploding on the surface just around the corner from us. I told my wife to hurry up and follow me, we ran around the corner and started casting.

First cast and my wife was hooked up to a small one. While she was fighting it I had a good one hit my fly. It gave my newly built 6wt fly rod and the drag on my new Orvis Access reel a good break-in.

Mine on the left and hers on the right. Usually she catches the bigger fish!
Mine on the left and hers on the right. Usually she catches the bigger fish!

As quickly as they fish showed up they were gone.

I did manage to get my wife to try and fly fish. She managed to catch a bluegill on a popper, along with a few rocks and herself at one time.

Wife's first fish on a fly.
Wife’s first fish on a fly.

The rest of the evening was spent catching bluegill on my 3wt and watching my daughter play with the dog.

Leave a Reply

