Mousin’ for Bass

Sunday evening I took the family out to do some fishing at a local pond. I decided to try out a mouse pattern that I came up with for the Loop USA fly tying contest.
20130624_064525

I tied on a Zara Spook JR for my wife and my daughter wanted to take pictures so I gave her my phone.

Before I had my fly tied on my wife had her first bass of the evening.
20130623_204806

My kid had to capture me fishing.
My kid had to capture me fishing.

A few casts later and I had my first bass. (Maybe it’s the new Skinny Water Culture hat!)

First bass on the mouse!
First bass on the mouse!

As the sunset the bite just got better!
20130623_211545

Before long the wife and kid had took shelter from the bugs in the car as the moon came out.
20130623_212823

I kept on fishing and the bass just kept biting.
20130623_212328
20130623_212608

For something I threw together on a whim my mouse works pretty well.

I’m looking forward to many more evenings mousin’ into the dark.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. freshwatergirl says:

    Great report!

Leave a Reply

