Weekend Fishing Update 6-9-13

I managed to do a little fishing Saturday morning and again Sunday evening at Milford Lake. The fish just didn’t cooperate.

Only one small bass was landed Saturday morning and I was skunked on Sunday.

Only bass of the weekend.
Only bass of the weekend.

My girl decided to go with me both days. She explored the shore while I did the fishing.

Windy Kansas day with my girl.
Windy Kansas day with my girl.

Saturday got real windy!
Saturday got real windy!
Lots of waves and some white caps on the water
Lots of waves and some white caps on the water
Saturday evening was spent at the World of Outlaws race in KC
Saturday evening was spent at the World of Outlaws race in KC

Sunday I managed to hook into something big. It pulled hard then was gone. When I retrieved my fly I figured out quickly that I had hooked a carp in the side.

Carp scale
Carp scale
Found a big shad washed up and realized maybe I should tie some bigger flys!
Found a big shad washed up and realized maybe I should tie some bigger flys!

Then sunset over the lake Sunday was very nice!

Sunday sunset at Milford Lake
Sunday sunset at Milford Lake

6-9 025
A blue heron joined us to fish.
A blue heron joined us to fish.

It was still a beautiful weekend spent outdoors.

Oh yeah I also found a size 18 hook that I dropped a week ago… with my foot.

Ouch!
Ouch!

I’m glad the barb was small!

Leave a Reply

