Memorial Day Fishing

on

Memorial Day was the only day this weekend I managed to make some time to fish Milford Lake. With a 25 to 30 mph wind blowing rain, I got a late start.

Once the rain stopped I managed to hook my first fish of the day.

Kansas Drum of a fly.
Kansas Drum of a fly.

As I made my way around a point and into the next cove I noticed something had a mud line stirred up.

Dirty water with carp all around.
Dirty water with carp all around.

When I got close I noticed probably thirty carp all along the edge of the dirty water.

So I got out my little box of flies that are supposed to catch carp, tied one on, and started casting. First I was casting from as far away as possible so I didn’t spook them. Then as time went on I worked my way right up next to them. They didn’t mind I was there and they wouldn’t eat anything I threw at them.

Kansas Carp
Kansas Carp

I did manage to catch a little smallmouth that was in with all the carp.

He was hanging out with the carp
He was hanging out with the carp

One day soon I am going to figure out how to hook one of these carp. If anyone out there has any tips on how to hook one on a fly I sure could use them.

Leave a Reply

