Lunch Break Fishing

Today I decided to spend my lunch break trying to catch some smallmouth in the Republican river below Milford Reservior.

Spring has everything in full bloom.
Spring has everything in full bloom.
Even the rocks are sprouting!
Even the rocks are sprouting!

The water was low and clear so I had to walk aways to find a hole deep enough to have some fish in it.

20130523_130752

I only had about 20 minutes of fishing time so I tied on one of my favorite flies. I purchased it at a local shop that is now out of business and I can not remember what they called it. If any one knows leave me comment.

Anyone know what this fly is called?
Anyone know what this fly is called?

The fish were chasing my fly but I only managed to get one smallmouth to eat my fly.

Nice Kansas Smallmouth bass
Nice Kansas Smallmouth bass

Not long after that fish I had a larger smallmouth chase my fly all the way to my feet. Right as I was running out of room to strip he sucked my fly in but I failed to set the hook in time.

I’ll get him next time.

Time sure flies by when you only have a short time to fish. I did spot a good size collared lizzard on the way back to the car.

He sure blends in well.
He sure blends in well.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. socalsalty says:

    Solid for a quickie

  2. Ryan says:

    Great report! I just coincidently started a forum at lunchbreakfishing.com for guys just like you and happened to come across your page. Please check it out and post some lunch time catches!

Leave a Reply

