First Fish of 2013

Well I can not believe it has taken me until February to get out and go fishing. After reading that the KDWP recently stocked 2000 trout in a local pond, how could I not go fishing. I finally made time Saturday afternoon.

After a half day at work I drove to Moon Lake on Ft. Riley. It was sunny with the temperature climbing into the 50’s and a light breeze. Upon arriving I noticed that there was no one else fishing, so I had the whole area to myself.

I tied on a black woolly bugger with some copper flash. After a couple of casts I hooked my first fish. It came shooting up out of the water and tossed my fly. The next two fish I hooked managed to do the same. I realized that I wasn’t setting the hook hard enough.

It only took a few casts and I was hooked up. Finally I had my first fish of the year.

First fish of 2013
First fish of 2013

Over the next hour and a half the fish continued to bite well. I caught quite a few more trout and a bluegill managed to chase down my fly. It made for a great afternoon of fishing.

Leave a Reply

