Hot Kansas Fishing

As everyone probably knows it’s been a very hot and dry summer here in Kansas, so fishing has not been a high priority for me. It had been a couple of weeks since my last trip to the lake so Tuesday after work I went home and picked up my wife and daughter and headed out (even though it was still 104).

When we arrived I got my daughter fishing for bluegill with a little jig and a bobber on her favorite cane pole. She loves fishing with it because it is so simple.

My girl with her cane pole

Over the evening we caught a few bluegill. I took my fly rod and popper hoping to find a nice bass. I managed to get one good bite but he spit it out before I got it hooked. My wife found a school of baby crappie around a log and caught a couple of those. Sorry for the bad cell phone pictures but we forgot the camera at home.

Wifes baby bluegill
Baby Crappie

Overall it was a hot but still fun evening of family fishing.

Leave a Reply

