Flyfishing for Bluegill and Catfishing

Wednesday evening I made time to go do some fishing. My wife wanted to go so we packed up and headed out to Geary State Fishing Lake. Last time we were there the catfish were really biting so I fixed my wife up with some chicken liver and got her fishing. As always the wind was blowing probably around 15+ mph out of the south, so I showed her where to fish off one of the points facing into the wind.

Windy Point

While I waited for the wind to die down I tossed out my catfish pole. It wasn’t every long and my pole started bouncing. We had a little channel cat. To my wifes disappointment it was the only one of the night.

Too small for me to keep

Around 8:30 the wind started slowing down some so I got out my fly rod and a little wet fly. The bluegills in the area were not very big but there was a lot of them. They sure have some fight in them!

I even caught a couple of really colorful Pumpkinseed sunfish.

My daughter really likes these.
Lots of color!
Leave a Reply

