A little of everything on the fly

My wife and I head to Milford lake Tuesday evening after I got off work. I decided to bring only my fly rod so I could get some more time practicing fishing with it.

When we arrived at the lake I got my wife fishing with a blue and white two and half-inch Sassy Shad. She managed to catch a really nice crappie. For some reason she still won’t take it off the hook and hold them. So she took the picture.

Nice Crappie

Over the weekend I stopped by the local tackle shop Chapman Creek Outdoors and picked up some new poppers. One of these is a little yellow stripped popper that I knew the fish would love. Boy was I right, the fish just ate it up almost as soon as it hit the water.

Bluegill on my favorite fly.

I was able to catch a little bit of everything on it too. I caught a lot of Bluegill, a little Largemouth Bass, and a little Smallmouth Bass. It was a lot of fun. Next time I am going to get out my 8wt and toss some big bass flys. Maybe I can get something bigger than my hand. Until then here’s some pictures of my evening.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. david says:

    Definitely looks like summer. That is some great variety 🙂 nice work with the poppers. keep it up!

    1. Donfishin says:

      Thanks. It was alot of fun.

  2. blood101 says:

    WOW Im a long way from Kansas!! lol very nice blog

    1. Donfishin says:

      It looks like you have some nice fish over there! Thanks.

      1. blood101 says:

        It is beautiful, the River blyth has mainly Brown trout and grayling in there.. all for £50 a season!

Leave a Reply

